Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board consists of:

  • H.L.J. (Harrie) Noy (chairman)
  • G. (Gosse) Boon (vice-chairman)
  • C.M.C. (Carla) Mahieu
  • M.P. (Paul) Sheffield
  • H. (Helle) Valentin

H.L.J. (Harrie) Noy (1951), chairman

Mr Noy completed his studies at Eindhoven University of Technology in 1974. Mr Noy worked for Arcadis throughout his entire career. He joined that company, which at the time still operated under the name Heidemij, in 1975 and has since occupied various positions. From 1989 to 1994 he was a member of the Management Board of Arcadis’ consultancy division in the Netherlands, and served as Chairman of that Board from 1992 to 1994. In 1994, Mr Noy was appointed as a member of the Executive Board. From 2000 to May 2012, Mr Noy served as CEO and Chairman of the Executive Board of Arcadis NV.

Mr Noy is a Dutch national and does not own any shares in the company’s capital.

Other offices:

  • Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Fugro;
  • Chairman of the Board of Stichting Administratiekantoor TKH Group.

Mr Noy was appointed to the Supervisory Board in 2012, reappointed in 2016 and appointed as chairman of the Supervisory Board in 2017.

G. (Gosse) Boon (1959), vice-chairman

Mr Boon studied both quantitative business economics and commercial law at Erasmus University Rotterdam, graduating in 1983. He also completed the RA (Chartered Accountant) study at the same university. Mr Boon started his career at Unilever. From 1983 to 2000, he fulfilled various positions within the company, lastly as the CFO of Unilever Brazil. In 2000, Mr Boon was appointed the CEO of DiverseyLever Netherlands, a position he fulfilled until 2004. Subsequently, Mr Boon held the position of CFO and member of the Executive Board with Rijnmond Waste Processing and Van Gansewinkel Group respectively. In 2010, he transferred to Nutreco, being appointed CFO and Executive Board member in 2011. In 2015, following the delisting of Nutreco, he decided to leave the company.

Mr Boon has Dutch nationality and does not hold any shares in the Company’s equity. 

Other offices:

  • Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Albron;
  • Member of the Supervisory Board of KPMG;
  • Lay judge (expert member) of the Companies and Business Court (Enterprise Chamber), which is part of the Amsterdam Court of Appeal.

Mr Boon was appointed to the Supervisory Board in 2017. He was appointed as vice-chairman of the Supervisory Board in 2019.

C.M.C. (Carla) Mahieu (1959)

Mrs Mahieu studied economics at the University of Amsterdam, where she graduated in 1984. She began her career at Royal Dutch Shell, where she held various management positions dealing with human resources, communication and corporate strategy. After several years as a consultant, Mrs Mahieu joined Royal Philips Electronics as Senior Vice-President Corporate Human Resources in 2003. She took up her current position as Executive Vice-President and Global Head of Human Resources at Aegon in September 2010. She became a member of Aegon’s Management Board in 2016.

Mrs Mahieu is a Dutch national. She does not own any shares in the company’s capital.

Other offices:

  • Member of the Supervisory Board of VodafoneZiggo.

Mrs Mahieu was appointed to the Supervisory Board in 2011 and reappointed in 2015.

M.P. (Paul) Sheffield CBE (1961)

Mr Sheffield studied civil engineering at the University of Surrey (United Kingdom). He is a Chartered Engineer and Fellow at the British Institution of Civil Engineers. From 1983 to 2014 he was employed by the Kier Group, a large British construction and property development group, listed on the London stock exchange, where he held a number of management positions. During the first years of his career, Mr Sheffield was involved as an engineer in various projects in New Guinea, Turkey and the UK. Thereafter, he was responsible for projects in the UK, Saudi Arabia and Hong Kong as a project manager. In 1998 he became Director of Operations of the Civil Division and in the following year he was appointed Managing Director of that same division. In 2005 he joined the Board of the Kier Group where he was appointed as Chief Executive Officer in 2010. In 2014 Mr Sheffield left the Kier Group for Laing O’Rourke, one of the largest private construction companies of the United Kingdom, where he was a member of the Group Executive Committee until 2017, responsible for the activities in Europe and the Middle East.

Mr Sheffield is a British national and does not own any shares in the Company.

Other offices:

  • Non-Executive Director at Southern Water Services;
  • Industry advisor to the board of Manchester Airport Group;
  • Senior Vice President of the Institution of Civil Engineers.

Mr Sheffield was appointed to the Supervisory Board in 2017.

H. (Helle) Valentin (1967)

Mrs Valentin holds the position of General Manager, Global Business Services, Nordic at IBM. Since 2018, Mrs Valentin served as Managing Director within IBM and in that capacity, she was overall responsible for one of IBM’s Global Accounts. Prior to this, Mrs Valentin has served as Global COO of IBM’s Watson Internet of Things, responsible for founding the business and designing and building the business structure and product portfolio of this new IBM division. Before that, she was the COO of IBM’s Germany/Austria/Switzerland region in the period of 2013-2016, also responsible for strategy and business transformation. She started her career with IBM in 1992, after graduating as a Master of Engineering at the Technical University of Denmark and has held many international executive positions within IBM.

Mrs Valentin is a Danish national and does not own any shares in the company’s capital.

Other offices:

  • Member of the Supervisory Board of IBM Denmark Aps;
  • Member of the Board of Directors of PFA Holding and PFA Pension.

Mrs Valentin was appointed to the Supervisory Board in 2017.

Remuneration 2019

The General Meeting of Shareholders held on 19 April 2017 fixed the annual remuneration for the members of the Supervisory Board as per 1 May 2017 at €70,000.- for the chairman, €55,000.- for the vice-chairman and €50,000.- for the other Board members. This remuneration will be supplemented with an additional allowance of max. €10,000.- (chairman) or €7,000.- (members) per annum for the membership of one or more committees. Non-Dutch members will receive an attendance fee of €1,500.- per meeting. Actual costs in the performance of the duties for BAM are reimbursed. No options or shares are awarded to members of the Supervisory Board and no loans are issued to them.

The remuneration (excluding reimbursement of expenses) of the members of the Supervisory Board for the year 2019 is as follows:

H.L.J. Noy, chairman

€ 80,000

G. Boon

€ 63,000

C.M.C. Mahieu

€ 60,000

M.P. Sheffield

€ 67,500

H. Valentin

€ 67,500

The remuneration of the Supervisory Board members does not depend on the company's results, nor on a change of control in the company.

Schedule of resignation

As per 7 November 2019


Date of birth

Date of initial appointment

Year of re-appointment

End of current term

Ultimate date of resignation

H.L.J. Noy *, chairman






G. Boon, vice-chairman






C.M.C. Mahieu *






M.P. Sheffield






H. Valentin






* Strengthened right of recommendation of Central Works Council

Members of the Supervisory Board are appointed for a term of four years and may be reappointed for one additional term of four years. After this term, they may be reappointed again for a term of two years, which term may then be extended with a maximum of two years.

Members of the Supervisory Board shall resign immediately after the annual general meeting of shareholders in the year of their resignation.